Capitol Complex

The phrase "Capitol Complex" is often used incorrectly as a synonym for the Capitol or the Capitol Center.

The Capitol Complex, as defined by state law, is the area that contains the Capitol, Old Capitol, House Office Building, Senate Office Building, Knott Building, Holland Building, and Pepper Building.

However, the Capitol Grounds is the same area as the Captiol Complex, but excludes the Holland and Pepper Buildings. The Grounds are bound on the north by Jefferson St./Pensacola St., on east by Monroe St., on the south by Madison St., and the west by Duval St.

The Capitol Center is the downtown Tallahassee area containing nineteen major state office buildings. This area is bound on the north by College Ave., on the west by Martin Luther King Blvd., and to south and east by the CSX railway line.